Ads inside AI answers are advertising placed within a generated response, rather than beside a list of links. Google and OpenAI both moved in that direction in 2026. For a business buying search or social media ads today, the useful question is what to prepare, and what is still unconfirmed.
- On May 20, 2026, Google said it was testing Conversational Discovery ads and Highlighted Answers inside AI Mode, both labeled “Sponsored.”
- Google points advertisers to AI Max and Performance Max as the foundation, so no separate AI Mode campaign is described in its announcement.
- OpenAI launched a beta self-serve Ads Manager for U.S. advertisers in May 2026 and added cost-per-click bidding.
- Several details remain unpublished in the sources we reviewed, including the eligibility threshold for Highlighted Answers and ChatGPT ad placement.
What Google announced for AI Mode
Google’s May 20, 2026 Marketing Live announcement said it was testing two new ad types built with Gemini, its AI model family. Conversational Discovery ads: Gemini builds the creative around the specific question a person asked. Highlighted Answers: when AI Mode returns a list of recommendations, Google says “highly relevant, high-quality ads are eligible to appear on that list.”
Google also said both formats will continue to be labeled “Sponsored” and will carry an independent AI-generated explainer alongside the advertiser’s creative. According to The Register’s coverage the next day, Google said Highlighted Answers use standards similar to its existing ad filtering and the same auction mechanics, but did not publicly define what counts as high quality.
The implication is that a strong account foundation matters more than a special AI Mode setup. Google’s announcement recommends building on AI Max for Search, AI Max for Shopping and Performance Max, which our guide to Google AI Max for Search explains.
What OpenAI has opened up in ChatGPT
OpenAI began a ChatGPT ads pilot in February 2026. According to Search Engine Roundtable, it announced a beta self-serve Ads Manager for U.S. advertisers on May 5, 2026, letting businesses register, add payment details, set budgets and bids, upload ads and view performance in a portal.
Marketing Dive reported on May 11, 2026 that OpenAI added cost-per-click bidding, after an early version limited to cost per thousand impressions, along with a Conversions API and pixel-based measurement. The same report said the pilot expanded on May 7 to the U.K., Mexico, Japan, Brazil and South Korea, and that access would open to more businesses gradually.
For a U.S. or U.K. buyer, the practical change is that ChatGPT can now be tested like any other paid channel, with conversion tracking you control. Marketing Dive also noted that a late-April OpenAI privacy policy update covers receiving purchase data from advertisers, which your legal team should read before you share customer data.
How the two compare
The two platforms are at different stages, and the gaps in public detail are as informative as the features. The table below uses only what the cited reports state.
| Question | Google AI Mode ads | ChatGPT ads |
|---|---|---|
| Status | New formats in testing (Google, May 20, 2026) | Beta self-serve Ads Manager for U.S. advertisers (May 2026) |
| How you buy | Through existing Google Ads campaigns, with AI Max and Performance Max recommended | Through OpenAI’s own Ads Manager, or through ad-tech partners |
| Bidding | Same auction mechanics as existing ads, per Google via The Register | Cost per click and cost per thousand impressions |
| Labeling | “Sponsored,” plus an independent AI explainer | Not specified in the sources we reviewed |
| Measurement | Google Ads reporting | Conversions API and pixel |
Both channels are early, so treat any benchmark you see for them as provisional until the platforms publish methodology.
What is still unconfirmed
Several claims circulate in trade coverage that we could not verify against a primary source, so we have left them out. These include pricing figures for ChatGPT ads, click-through comparisons and claims about how many AI Mode sessions end without a click. A figure without a named study and method is not a basis for a budget decision.
Google’s own announcement did not give a rollout date for the new formats beyond “testing,” and said AI-powered Shopping ads and Business Agent for Leads, a chat agent inside the ad, were expected in the coming months. The sources we read did not state where ChatGPT ads appear within a conversation or which user plans see them.
The implication is simple. Plan for these formats as a test line, not as a replacement for your core search and social spend, and recheck availability before each quarter’s planning, because the details are changing quickly.
How to prepare without overspending
The steps below fit a small team and rely on inputs you already control. They also overlap with the groundwork for agentic commerce, where product data quality decides what AI systems can use.
- Audit your product or service data, because Gemini writes creative from it and a thin feed produces thin ads.
- Confirm your conversion tracking records qualified leads or revenue, not only clicks, before any new channel goes live.
- Run your Google campaigns on AI Max or Performance Max with a clear conversion goal, so you are eligible when formats open.
- Set a small, capped ChatGPT test budget that you can lose, and judge it by cost per qualified result in your own CRM.
- Review landing pages for clear answers, since the AI explainer will describe your offer in neutral terms next to your ad.
As we noted in our look at agentic advertising in 2026, platforms automate delivery, but the offer, the data and the measurement stay with you.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a separate campaign to appear in Google AI Mode ads?
Google’s announcement does not describe a separate AI Mode campaign type. It recommends building on AI Max for Search, AI Max for Shopping and Performance Max, so check Google Ads for current eligibility.
Are ads in AI answers labeled?
Google said its two new AI Mode formats will continue to be labeled “Sponsored.” The sources we reviewed did not specify the labeling format for ChatGPT ads.
Is ChatGPT advertising available to U.K. businesses?
Marketing Dive reported that OpenAI’s ads pilot expanded to the U.K. on May 7, 2026, while the self-serve Ads Manager beta launched for U.S. advertisers. Confirm current access in your account.
Ads inside AI answers reward businesses with clean data, honest measurement and a clear offer, which is the work we focus on first. At Grow with Hafsa we build AI marketing and performance systems that make new channels like these easy to test and easy to stop.